Pamuk on his Writing & Sufism

I am interested in Sufism as a literary source. As a discipline comprising positions and actions that train the soul, I cannot engage with it, but I look at the literature of Sufism as a literary treasure. As I sit at my table, the child of a republican family, i live like a man committed to Western Cartesian rationalism to the nth degree. Reason sits at the center of my existence. But at the same time, I try to open myself as much as I can to other books, other texts. I do not look at those texts as material. I take pleasure in reading them-they bring me joy. This joy lifts my spirit. Whatever it touches, it will have to reckon with the rationalism in me. Perhaps my books rise out of these two poles, attracting and repelling each other.

– From “Other Colors

Leave a Reply

