GRin & sUK

A psychological tip

Whenever you’re called on to make up your mind
and you’re hampered by not having any,
the best way to solve the dilemma, you’ll find
is simply by spinning a penny.No – not so that chance shall decide the affair
while you’re passively standing there moping;
but the moment the penny is up in the air
you suddenly know what you’re hoping.

Lest Fools Should Fail

True wisdom knows
it must comprise
some nonsense
as a compromise,
lest fools shouls fail
to find it wise.

Grook or Gruk(in Danish) is said to be an abbreviation of GRin and sUK (laughter and sigh) invented and made famous by Danish poet Piet Hein. Grooks are short aphoristic poems characterized by irony, paradox, brevity, sophisticated rhymes and satire.

Enjoy them here, here and here.

3 comments

  1. Absolutely brilliant find Rakesh!
    thank you for sharing these pearls of wisdom from Piet Hein
    Light-hearted yet so intelligent creations.simple things that we always tend to ignore or take them for granted. Am astounded, how compelling Grooks are…haha!

    I loved ur pick…mine that tickled me the most are this and a few others…

    THE GRASSHOPPER’S GRIEF
    A grasshopper sat on a flagstone and wept
    with a sorrow that few surpass.
    He had painfully mastered his letters, and leapt
    to a place where he knew an inscription was kept
    and of course it said:
    KEEP OFF THE GRASS…I could not resist cooing “Oh so sweet..”
    I loved those tiny pictures too!felt as if I took a trip to some familiar that turns me into a child to wander around
    umm, now I can see how you are njoying ur holidays!-Jyo

  2. sleepy head was I when I wrote my first comment..*I meant some familiar land* up there
    but I forgot to add one mre thing-having spent almost 6 months on blog, I could now say that ur blog talks something simple,something real,something I see, you feel, he watches or she walks by…It does nt overwhelm me!
    I am glad to “re-cycle” my interaction with ur blog-Jyo

Leave a Reply

